

### **Awards**

Each year, the North Dakota Medical Association honors a physician and a non-physician who have made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, patients, and their community.

The awards will be presented during NDMA's 2025 Annual Meeting on October 3rd. NDMA will recognize the recipients of the following two awards:

# NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award

This award was established in 1977 to annually recognize and honor physicians for outstanding leadership and services to the people of North Dakota and to the profession of medicine.

#### Criteria

- 1. The recipient must be a physician member of the NDMA;
- 2. The recipient must be living;
- 3. The recipient must not have been a previous award recipient; and
- 4. The recipient must have compiled an outstanding record of community service, apart from his or her specific identification as a physician, that reflects well on the medical profession.

### **NDMA Friend of Medicine Award**

The Friend of Medicine Award was created in 1999 to formally acknowledge non-physician residents of our state who "have distinguished themselves by serving as effective advocates for health care, patient services, or the profession of medicine in the state of North Dakota."

#### Criteria

- 1. Must be either living in or operating a business enterprise in the state;
- 2. Must not be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; and
- 3. Must have distinguished himself or herself by serving as an effective advocate for healthcare, patient services, or the profession of medicine in North Dakota.

### NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award Past Recipients

## NDMA Friend of Medicine Award Past Recipients

Paul J. Beithon, MD	Wahpeton	1977	Sen. Judy DeMers	Grand Forks	1999
Nelson A. Youngs, MD	Grand Forks	1978	Rep. Rick Berg	Fargo	1999
Richard S. Larson, MD	Velva	1979	Rep. Wanda Rose	Bismarck	1999
Robert W. McLean, MD	Hillsboro	1980	Sr. Michael Emond, PA-C	Hettinger	2000
James H. Mahoney, MD	Devils Lake	1981	Sherlyn Dahl	Fargo	2001
Phillip O. Dahl, MD	Bismarck	1982	Kelly Schmidt	Minot	2002
Melvin S. Jacobson, MD	Elgin	1982	Mary Muhlbradt	Minot	2002
Dean R. Strinden, MD	Williston	1983	Vern Hedland	Valley City	2003
Robert C. Painter, MD	Grand Forks	1984	Evan Lips, Sr.	Bismarck	2004
Edward J. Hagan, MD	Williston	1985	Thomas Clifford	Grand Forks	2004
William R. Fox, MD	Rugby	1986	Robert Peabody	East Grand Forks	2005
William C. Riecke, MD	Bismarck	1987	Carol Meidinger	Bismarck	2006
Robert B. Tudor, MD	Bismarck	1988	Kent Brackel	Hettinger	2007
George M. Johnson, MD	Fargo	1989	Congressman Earl Pomeroy	Bismarck	2008
Keith G. Foster, MD	Bismarck	1990	J. Patrick Traynor	Fargo	2009
Robert L. Geston, MD	West Fargo	1991	Senator Byron Dorgan	Bismarck	2010
John W. Goven, MD	Valley City	1992	Bruce Levi	Bismarck	2011
Herbert J. Wilson, MD	New Town	1993	Senator Kent Conrad	Bismarck	2012
Lee A. Christopherson Sr, MD	Fargo	1994	Dan Kelly	Watford City	2013
Mack V. Traynor, MD	Fargo	1995	Dave Molmen	Grand Forks	2014
Raman A. Patel, MD	Tioga	1996	Burt Riskedahl JD	Bismarck	2015
Dennis E. Wolf, MD	Dickinson	1997	Joyce Sayler, RN	Mandan	2016
Clifford J. Klein, MD	Valley City	1998	Randy Eken	Grand Forks	2017
Ralph L. Kilzer, MD	Bismarck	1999	Jerry Jurena	Bismarck	2018
Raymond S. Gruby, MD	Bismarck	2000	Jeana Peinovich	Fargo	2019
John L. Crary, MD	Fargo	2001	Kirby Kruger	Bismarck	2020
Marlin JE Johnson, MD	Bismarck	2002	Molly Howell	Bismarck	2021
Rupkumar Nagala, MD	Oakes	2003	Desi Fleming	Fargo	2022
Steven K. Hamar, MD	Bismarck	2004	Renae Moch	Bismarck	2022
Clayton E. Jensen, MD	Detroit Lakes	2005	Carma Hanson	Grand Forks	2023
Glenn M. Thoreson, MD	Mayville	2006		Hettinger	2024
Bruce G. Pitts, MD	Fargo	2007			
Bernard J. Hoggarth, MD	Grand Forks	2008			
Timothy J. Mahoney, MD	Fargo	2009			
Robert R. Tight, MD	Fargo Grand Forks	2010 2011			
James D. Brosseau, MD	Oakes	2011			
Vani Nagala, MD	Fargo	2012			
John M. Leitch, MD Roger W. Schauer, MD	Grand Forks	2013			
Joseph E. Adducci, MD	Williston	2014			
Julie A. Blehm, MD	Fargo	2015			
Kimberly T. Krohn, MD	Minot	2017			
A. Michael Booth, MD	Bismarck	2018			
Gary W. Ramage, MD	Watford City	2019			
Michael R. Brown, MD	Grand Forks	2020			
Casey J. Ryan, MD	Grand Forks	2021			
Paul J. Carson, MD	Fargo	2022			
Joshua Wynne, MD	Grand Forks	2023			
David Field, MD	Bismarck	2024			
•					

**Deadline for Submission: August 31, 2025** 

The NDMA Executive Council will determine award recipients. Please return the completed form and any accompanying material to North Dakota Medical Association, 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A, Bismarck, ND, 58503-0512. If you have any questions, contact the NDMA office at 701-223-9475 or email donna@ndmed.com.

### **Nomination Form**

Nominee: (please print)
Name
Address
City/State/Zip
Phone
I would like to nominate this person for:  NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award  NDMA Friend of Medicine Award  Describe why this person should receive the award. Please attach supporting
information.
Nomination submitted by:
Name
Address
City/State/Zip
Phone
E-mail



Please submit nominations by August 31, 2025 to: North Dakota Medical Association 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A Bismarck, ND 58503-0512

Or submit via email to <a href="mailto:donna@ndmed.com">donna@ndmed.com</a>