

Awards

Each year, the North Dakota Medical Association honors a physician and a non-physician who have made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, patients, and their community.

The awards will be presented during NDMA's 2024 Annual Meeting on October 4th. NDMA will recognize the recipients of the following two awards:

NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award

This award was established in 1977 to annually recognize and honor physicians for outstanding leadership and services to the people of North Dakota and to the profession of medicine.

Criteria

- 1. The recipient must be a physician member of the NDMA;
- 2. The recipient must be living;
- 3. The recipient must not have been a previous award recipient; and
- 4. The recipient must have compiled an outstanding record of community service which, apart from his or her specific identification as a physician, reflects well on the profession of medicine.

NDMA Friend of Medicine Award

The Friend of Medicine Award was created in 1999 to formally acknowledge non-physician residents of our state who "have distinguished themselves by serving as effective advocates for health care, patient services, or the profession of medicine in the state of North Dakota."

Criteria

- 1. Must be either living in or operating a business enterprise in the state;
- 2. Must not be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; and
- 3. Must have distinguished himself or herself by serving as an effective advocate for healthcare, patient services, or the profession of medicine in the state of North Dakota.

NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award Past Recipients

Paul J. Beithon, MD Nelson A. Youngs, MD Richard S. Larson, MD Robert W. McLean, MD James H. Mahoney, MD Phillip O. Dahl, MD Melvin S. Jacobson, MD Dean R. Strinden, MD Robert C. Painter, MD Edward J. Hagan, MD William R. Fox, MD William C. Riecke, MD Robert B. Tudor, MD George M. Johnson, MD Keith G. Foster, MD Robert L. Geston, MD John W. Goven, MD Herbert J. Wilson, MD Lee A. Christopherson Sr, MD Mack V. Traynor, MD Raman A. Patel, MD Dennis E. Wolf, MD Clifford J. Klein, MD Ralph L. Kilzer, MD Raymond S. Gruby, MD John L. Crary, MD Marlin JE Johnson, MD Rupkumar Nagala, MD Steven K. Hamar, MD Clayton E. Jensen, MD Glenn M. Thoreson, MD Bruce G. Pitts, MD Bernard J. Hoggarth, MD Timothy J. Mahoney, MD Robert R. Tight, MD James D. Brosseau, MD Vani Nagala, MD John M. Leitch, MD Roger W. Schauer, MD Joseph E. Adducci, MD Julie A. Blehm, MD Kimberly T. Krohn, MD A. Michael Booth, MD Gary W. Ramage, MD Michael R. Brown, MD Casey J. Ryan, MD Paul J. Carson, MD Joshua Wynne, MD

Wahpeton 1977 Grand Forks 1978 Velva 1979 Hillsboro 1980 **Devils Lake** 1981 **Bismarck** 1982 Elgin 1982 Williston 1983 Grand Forks 1984 Williston 1985 Rugby 1986 **Bismarck** 1987 Bismarck 1988 Fargo 1989 Bismarck 1990 West Fargo 1991 Valley City 1992 New Town 1993 Fargo 1994 Fargo 1995 Tioga 1996 Dickinson 1997 Valley City 1998 Bismarck 1999 Bismarck 2000 Fargo 2001 Bismarck 2002 Oakes 2003 **Bismarck** 2004 Detroit Lakes 2005 Mayville 2006 Fargo 2007 Grand Forks 2008 Fargo 2009 Fargo 2010 Grand Forks 2011 Oakes 2012 Fargo 2013 Grand Forks 2014 Williston 2015 Fargo 2016 Minot 2017 **Bismarck** 2018 Watford City 2019 Grand Forks 2020 Grand Forks 2021 Fargo 2022 Grand Forks 2023

NDMA Friend of Medicine Award Past Recipients

Sen. Judy DeMers	Grand Forks	1999
Rep. Rick Berg	Fargo	1999
Rep. Wanda Rose	Bismarck	1999
Sr. Michael Emond, PA-C	Hettinger	2000
Sherlyn Dahl	Fargo	2001
Kelly Schmidt	Minot	2002
Mary Muhlbradt	Minot	2002
Vern Hedland	Valley City	2003
Evan Lips, Sr.	Bismarck	2004
Thomas Clifford	Grand Forks	2004
Robert Peabody	East Grand Forks	2005
Carol Meidinger	Bismarck	2006
Kent Brackel	Hettinger	2007
Congressman Earl Pomeroy	Bismarck	2008
J. Patrick Traynor	Fargo	2009
Senator Byron Dorgan	Bismarck	2010
Bruce Levi	Bismarck	2011
Senator Kent Conrad	Bismarck	2012
Dan Kelly	Watford City	2013
Dave Molmen	Grand Forks	2014
Burt Riskedahl JD	Bismarck	2015
Joyce Sayler, RN	Mandan	2016
Randy Eken	Grand Forks	2017
Jerry Jurena	Bismarck	2018
Jeana Peinovich	Fargo	2019
Kirby Kruger	Bismarck	2020
Molly Howell	Bismarck	2021
Desi Fleming	Fargo	2022
Renae Moch	Bismarck	2022
Carma Hanson	Grand Forks	2023

Deadline for Submission: August 31, 2024

Award recipients will be determined by the NDMA Executive Council.

Please return the completed form and any accompanying material to: North Dakota Medical Association, 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A, Bismarck, ND, 58503-0512. If you have any questions, contact the NDMA office at 701-223-9475 or email to: <u>donna@ndmed.com</u>.

Nomination Form

Nominee: (please print)	
Name	
Address	
City/State/Zip	
Phone	
I would like to nominate this person for: NDMA Physician Community and Pr NDMA Friend of Medicine Award	rofessional Services Award
Describe why this person should receive information.	e the award. Please attach supporting
Nomination submitted by:	
Name	
Address	
City/State/Zip	
Phone	
City/State/Zip Phone E-mail PI	



Please submit nominations by August 31, 2024 to: North Dakota Medical Association 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A Bismarck ND 58503-0512

Or submit via email to donna@ndmed.com