

Awards

Each year, the North Dakota Medical Association honors a physician and a non-physician who have made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, patients, and their community.

The awards will be presented during NDMA's Annual Meeting on October 1st. NDMA will recognize the recipients of the following two awards:

NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award

This award was established in 1977 to annually recognize and honor physicians for outstanding leadership and services to the people of North Dakota and to the profession of medicine.

Criteria

- 1. The recipient must be a physician member of the NDMA;
- 2. The recipient must be living;
- 3. The recipient must not have been a previous award recipient; and
- 4. The recipient must have compiled an outstanding record of community service which, apart from his or her specific identification as a physician, reflects well on the profession of medicine.

NDMA Friend of Medicine Award

The Friend of Medicine Award was created in 1999 to formally acknowledge non-physician residents of our state who "have distinguished themselves by serving as effective advocates for health care, patient services, or the profession of medicine in the state of North Dakota."

Criteria

- 1. Must be either living in or operating a business enterprise in the state;
- 2. Must not be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; and
- 3. Must have distinguished himself or herself by serving as an effective advocate for healthcare, patient services, or the profession of medicine in the state of North Dakota.

NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award Past Recipients

NDMA Friend of Medicine Award Past Recipients

Melvin S. Jacobson, MDElgin1982Mary MuhlbradtMinot2002Dean R. Strinden, MDWilliston1983Vern HedlandValley City2003Robert C. Painter, MDGrand Forks1984Evan Lips, Sr.Bismarck2004Edward J. Hagan, MDWilliston1985Thomas CliffordGrand Forks2004William R. Fox, MDRugby1986Robert PeabodyEast Grand Forks2005William C. Riecke, MDBismarck1987Carol MeidingerBismarck2006Robert B. Tudor, MDBismarck1988Kent BrackelHettinger2007George M. Johnson, MDFargo1989Congressman Earl PomeroyBismarck2008Keith G. Foster, MDBismarck1990J. Patrick TraynorFargo2009Robert L. Geston, MDWest Fargo1991Senator Byron DorganBismarck2010John W. Goven, MDValley City1992Bruce LeviBismarck2011Herbert J. Wilson, MDNew Town1993Senator Kent ConradBismarck2011Lee A. Christopherson Sr, MDFargo1994Dan KellyWatford City2013Mack V. Traynor, MDFargo1995Dave MolmenGrand Forks2014Raman A. Patel, MDTioga1996Burt Riskedahl JDBismarck2015Dennis E. Wolf, MDDickinson1997Joyce Sayler, RNMandan2016Clifford J. Klein, MDValley City1998Randy E	Dean R. Strinden, MD Robert C. Painter, MD Edward J. Hagan, MD William R. Fox, MD William C. Riecke, MD Robert B. Tudor, MD George M. Johnson, MD Keith G. Foster, MD Robert L. Geston, MD John W. Goven, MD Herbert J. Wilson, MD Lee A. Christopherson Sr, MD Mack V. Traynor, MD Raman A. Patel, MD Dennis E. Wolf, MD Clifford J. Klein, MD Ralph L. Kilzer, MD Raymond S. Gruby, MD John L. Crary, MD Marlin JE Johnson, MD Rupkumar Nagala, MD Steven K. Hamar, MD Clayton E. Jensen, MD Glenn M. Thoreson, MD Bruce G. Pitts, MD Bernard J. Hoggarth, MD Timothy J. Mahoney, MD Robert R. Tight, MD James D. Brosseau, MD Vani Nagala, MD John M. Leitch, MD Roger W. Schauer, MD Joseph E. Adducci, MD Julie A. Blehm, MD Kimberly T. Krohn, MD A. Michael Booth, MD Gary W. Ramage, MD	Williston Grand Forks Williston Rugby Bismarck Bismarck Fargo Bismarck West Fargo Valley City New Town Fargo Fargo Tioga Dickinson Valley City Bismarck Bismarck Bismarck Fargo Grand Forks Fargo Grand Forks Fargo Grand Forks Coakes Fargo Grand Forks Fargo Grand Forks Fargo Grand Forks Coakes Fargo Grand Forks	1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019	Vern Hedland Evan Lips, Sr. Thomas Clifford Robert Peabody Carol Meidinger Kent Brackel Congressman Earl Pomeroy J. Patrick Traynor Senator Byron Dorgan Bruce Levi Senator Kent Conrad Dan Kelly Dave Molmen Burt Riskedahl JD Joyce Sayler, RN Randy Eken Jerry Jurena Jeana Peinovich	Valley City Bismarck Grand Forks East Grand Forks Bismarck Hettinger Bismarck Fargo Bismarck Bismarck Bismarck Watford City Grand Forks Bismarck Mandan Grand Forks Bismarck Fargo	2003 2004 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
---	---	--	--	--	--	--

Deadline for Submission: August 31, 2021

Award recipients will be determined by the NDMA Commission on Medical Services and Public Relations.

Please return the completed form and any accompanying material to: North Dakota Medical Association, 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A, Bismarck, ND, 58503-0512. If you have any questions, contact the NDMA office at 1-800-732-9477 or 701-223-9475 or staff@ndmed.com.

Nomination Form

Nominee: (please print)
Name
Address
City/State/Zip
Phone
I would like to nominate this person for: NDMA Physician Community and Professional Services Award NDMA Friend of Medicine Award Describe why this person should receive the award. Please attach supporting information.
Nomination submitted by:
Name
Address
City/State/Zip
Phone
Fil



Please submit nominations before August 31, 2021 to: North Dakota Medical Association 1622 E Interstate Ave, Ste A Bismarck ND 58503-0512